Grandpa, I miss you!

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Cut Off.”

My grandfather, whom we affectionately called Appa, passed away on May 21st 2011 in India. I learnt about this over the phone, here in the US on the night of the 20th.

Incidentally, this was the day when Harold Camping had made the prophecy that this would be the day of rapture.. The prophecy turned out to be bogus, but the first thought that crossed my mind upon hearing the news was “Appa was a great soul and hence was called up in heaven”.

A self made man, who lived a life of discipline, he died a peaceful death. He had a passion for learning.. He got his masters degree while providing for his family of 5 kids, and law degree upon retirement. A stroke left him partially paralyzed in his later years but he kept his life going.. Reading the daily newspaper, writing his daily journal.. All his belongings neatly placed where they should be. Everything thing had a place and a reason.

I could not go back home and participate in his last rites. Upon losing him, I felt this feeling of being an orphan.. When I walked the fairways at my neighborhood golf course,I felt this feeling of emptiness.. A feeling that a family might feel upon losing their house to a twister, the night before..a feeling that all is finished…

But I know, he is looking down upon me and my family and is feeling proud of his achievements.. In our happiness, he smiles for doing a great job of raising the family right..

My son is 14 months old today and in him, I see glimpse of my grandpa.. He is a part of our lives through the mischievous twinkle in my son’s eyes.

Rest in peace, old man.. Its peace well deserved for a life lived well!

2 responses to “Grandpa, I miss you!

Leave a Reply

