When job becomes just a paycheck

Last week, the daily post prompt asked..If money were out of the equation, would you still work? Something happened over the last week and I find myself asking, is it really worth hanging on to my current job? 

The job is great.. it pays well.. allows me to work from home most of the time. The workload is not very busy. It leaves me time to pursue my hobbies, express my thoughts as my blog. It also allows me time to work on University courses that will help me grow in my career. And most importantly, the flexibility it offers allows me to spend more time with my eight month old son. That was the reason, I took the job in the first place.

All that is fine. But, the absence from a workplace atmosphere leads to being out of the loop at times. Working in an environment, where it is very easy to get lost in the silos of bureaucracy, it sometimes leads me to question.. is it really worth it? After all, these are my prime working years. What I do in the next 10-12 years would set the foundation for the future for me, my wife and my kid.

Should I quit the job and take up an opportunity, that would keep me on my toes? Life would become more hectic, but it will also offer opportunities to grow. As I sit, writing my thoughts.. I looked for a few sources to find more satisfaction. 

My first step starting from a fresh workday tomorrow would be to follow the steps in Jonathan Wells’ blog, specifically this article about Job Satisfaction. 

I am also reading insprational articles like this blog about job satisfaction in management consultant positions (my line of work) and Rudy Karsan’s blog.

I am going to take charge on this front and see, if it changes anything. If you have any recommended reads or comments, please let me know.

2 responses to “When job becomes just a paycheck

  • Silver Threading

    I always tell my kids (grown up kids) that you do whatever job you have to support your family. Follow your passion when you can. However, I once had an opportunity to stay in a job much like the one that you have now. I did not do it. I could have completed my bachelor’s degree there and ended up eventually getting a better paying position. I left though, and worked my tail off for low wages most of my working career because I did not complete my education. Now I sit here with 2 associates degrees… If you can find the time to stay where you are and get yourself situated to where you will benefit in the long run, then stay. The grass is not always greener on the other side of the fence. You have plenty of time to continue to grow… hope you don’t mind my saying 🙂

    Like

  • soulcurrynrice

    Thank you for sharing your experience. Pardon me for not replying to your comment soon enough. I agree.. once we are in a comfort zone, the comfort itself becomes a noose around the ankles, that keeps us from taking the leap towards growth..

    Like

Leave a Reply

